Dipping fingers into the river’s waters
Touching all the water on all the earth
The rivers do not get jealous
Oceans demand no loyalty
Love the waters and they all love you
Advance recklessly and they will have their way
They give life and take it away
We obsess and fixate on their way
The ebbing and flowing, their wild nature
Their having no single nomenclature
I am but a fish swimming the depths
Searching for things, I know not what yet
I ask River’s help as she shows me the way
Allowing in light at the break of each day
I see other fish and the coral and krill
Wonder what delights, fears and thrills
Could be in store for one such as I
Who swim so blindly
I’ll figure it out as I search for food
A place to sleep, and look at the view
Try to take it all in but there is too much
Drowning in the life that circles me
Addled by life, by death
The sea is my prison
The water’s disease
I cannot leave and step onto shore
I cannot leave and live again once more

